Return to ads
All categories
Tim Legler

Tim Legler

Posted by
Posting ads for 48 years
In the first quarter, Howard reached through the hoop to block away a Gasol shot -- a clear violation of the rule book's Rule No.

11, Section 1, Article G, which states that goaltending occurs when a player "touch[es] the ball at any time with a hand which is through the basket ring." The referees didn't call goaltending on Howard, which saved two points for the Magic.

The non-call on Howard appears to be little more than a mistake by the referees.

But why didn't they call goaltending on Gasol and award the Magic two points? For the answer, turn to Page 39 of the 2008-09 Official Rules of the National Basketball Association.

Rule No.

11, Section I, Article H states that a player will not "vibrate the rim, net or backboard so as to cause the ball to make an unnatural bounce, or bend or move the rim to an off-center position when the ball is touching the ring or passing through." By not calling goaltending, referees determined that Gasol's action didn't vibrate the goal to such a degree that it caused "an unnatural bounce." "If you're interpreting from the rule book, I would not have called that a goaltend last night because the contact with the rim was pretty mild," ESPN NBA analyst Tim Legler said in a phone interview Monday.

"I think that the ball wasn't going in anyway.

That ball was coming off the rim too hard.

I don't care how much Pau Gasol touched the rim; that ball was not going in the basket.

There was too much English on the basketball when it skipped off the glass." Bernie Fryer, NBA director of officials, told the Los Angeles Times that no call was the correct call, because Gasol didn't alter the flight of the ball.

The non-calls set off a small debate in cyberspace.

A blog post on orlandosentinel.com about the Lee-Gasol play generated 115 comments from readers in the first 15 hours.

One reader wrote: "The ball did hit the rim.

Any time it hits the rim it has a chance to bounce high and possibly go in.

If the rim is vibrated at all it does [affect] the ball's rotation.

The refs didn't want to see it.

Overtime is safer." Still, other fans noted that the Magic was fortunate that goaltending wasn't called on Howard earlier in the game.

"Dwight Howard stuck his whole arm through the hoop in the first quarter to block a shot," another fan wrote.

"Take your whining and crying somewhere else."[email protected]

http://www.latimes.com/sports/la-sp-orlando-magic9-2009jun09,0,1161316.story
Reply to this ad
Recently viewed ads
Saved ads
Please log in to browse your saved adverts or sign up if you don't have an account yet.
Popular Stuff