Return to ads
All categories

Posted by
Posting ads for 49 years
HIGH SCHOOL SPORTSTop ten teams, by the numbers, you tell us, we'll tell youBy Rick Cantu, Richard TijerinaAMERICAN-STATESMAN STAFF Friday, May 29, 2009 OFF THE BEATEN PATH Varsity football 2009 schedulesThe American-Statesman still needs 2009 varsity football schedules for the following schools: Academy, Bartlett, Burnet, Caldwell, Cameron Yoe, Canyon Lake, Connally, Copperas Cove, Ellison, Florence, Fredericksburg, Georgetown, Giddings, Granger, Harker Heights, Hendrickson, Holland, Jarrell, Johnson City, Killeen, Lago Vista, La Grange, Lake Travis, Lexington, Llano, Luling, Marble Falls, Milano, N.B.

Canyon, Pflugerville, Rockdale, Rogers, Salado, Shoemaker, Thorndale and Thrall.

Schedules should be faxed (445-3868) or e-mailed ([email protected]).

Calls for All-Centex, All-DistrictCentral Texas baseball and softball coaches are urged to submit their All-District teams for future publication as well as make nominations for the All-Central Texas teams.

All-District teams are still needed for districts 12-5A, 16-5A, 25-5A, 25-4A, 26-4A, 8-3A, 24-3A, 25-3A, 25-2A and 26-A in baseball, and for 12-5A, 16-5A, 25-5A, 17-4A, 25-4A, 26-4A, 8-3A, 24-3A, 25-3A, 27-2A and 26-A in softball.

All-District teams should be e-mailed to [email protected] or faxed to 445-3868.

All-Central Texas nominations should include the player's full name, position and class, as well as season statistics and any other information deemed important.

All-Central Texas baseball nominations should be faxed to 445-3868 or e-mailed to [email protected]

All-Central Texas softball nominations should be e-mailed to [email protected]

Soccer players make All-StateConnally capped its first soccer season as a Class 5A program with three All-State selections as well as a coach of the year honoree.

Midfielders Marco Alcocer and Bryan Gavarrete joined goalkeeper Brooks Grubb on the All-State team selected by the Texas Association of Soccer Coaches, and John Mark Edwards was named Region IV-5A's coach of the year.

The Cougars advanced to this past season's regional final.

Westlake goalkeeper Erin Wikelius — this year's Central Texas player of the year — also earned All-State honors in Class 5A, as did Chaparrals defender Lauren Peterson.

Other Central Texas players who made All-State include Elgin forward Kelton McMillan, McNeil defender Emma Staley, and three Dripping Springs players — forward Angela Davis, midfielder Emily Gross and goalkeeper Catherine Hensley.

Dripping Springs girls coach Brandon McCallum was named Region IV-4A's coach of the year.

All-Star softball game is June 17The 10th annual Austin Area All-Star Softball Game will be played June 17 at Westlake, starting at 7 p.m.

Among the confirmed players are Bowie pitcher Blaire Luna, Akins shortstop Sabrina Holguin, Westlake outfielder Adrian Martinez and Wimberley second baseman Kelsey Allmand for the South squad and Cedar Park catcher Allison Garrett, Stony Point pitcher Ashley Kirk, Westwood outfielder Emily Prehoda and Hendrickson first baseman Briane Wesley.

Austin High's Lizi Sowers-Riley and Travis' Sonia Guzman will coach the South, while Elgin's Amanda Wolf and Leander's Faye Fregia will coach the North.

Tickets are $6 in advance and $8 at the gate.

Tickets for children 10 and under are $2.

Lockhart hires football coachConroe Caney Creek offensive coordinator Robin Rapp has been hired as head football coach at Lockhart.

He replaces Troy Moses, who now is at Beeville.

Rapp, a 1980 Texas graduate, was a longtime assistant at San Antonio East Central before moving to Caney Creek.

Lockhart also has hired East Central's Karla Ortiz as its volleyball coach.

16-5A trainers on to next levelSeven student athletic trainers from District 16-5A have been accepted to participate in athletic training programs at their respective colleges.

The trainers are Round Rock's Kayleigh Moore (Blinn College), Westwood's Brian Carlisle (Texas-San Antonio) and Jace Garcia (Texas-San Antonio), Vista Ridge's Janae Thompson (Texas Lutheran), Leander's Kelly Stifflemire (Baylor) and McNeil's Amy Janes (Odessa College).

Etc.Hutto golfer Amanda Hebert has signed with Mary Hardin-Baylor and Hippos volleyball player Amanda Lenz has signed with Concordia, becoming the ninth and 10th girls from Hutto to sign college scholarships this year.

They join volleyball players Jessica O'Shoney (Virginia), Angelica Arroyo (Texas Wesleyan), Crystal Roberts (Southern Arkansas) and Jordan Sliva (Abilene Christian), basketball player Cortney Henderson (Texas Lutheran), soccer player Kalia Jones (University of Mobile) and softball players Shelby Wahrmund (Howard Payne) and Ashley Hill (Mary Hardin-Baylor).


Rockdale track standout Krysten Brooks has signed with the University of Texas-Arlington.
Reply to this ad
Recently viewed ads
Saved ads
Please log in to browse your saved adverts or sign up if you don't have an account yet.
Popular Stuff